Tuesday, May 26, 2009


Area professionals selected to participate in the Greening of the City County Building

INDIANAPOLIS – Thirty-five local professionals have been selected to serve on the Green CCB Development Team. The Greening of the City County Building, an initiative announced in April 2009 by Mayor Greg Ballard, will convert the Indianapolis-Marion County City County Building (CCB) into a greener, more sustainable structure.

Team members will work with the City’s Office of Sustainability, the Indianapolis-Marion County Building Authority and the Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) – a national leader in sustainable design and energy retrofits that also led an initiative to green the White House by incorporating public participation.

“We want to engage citizens as much as possible in every step of this process to make the City County Building more energy efficient,” said Mayor Ballard. “Indianapolis is home to talented, creative professionals who have much to offer as we work to make this a more sustainable city, and the group we have assembled as our Green CCB Development Team represents that.”

Upon announcing the initiative, the City’s Office of Sustainability used public meetings and www.sustainindy.org to solicit applications from professionals in the green building sector who were interested in participating. Applicants were asked to provide information about their areas of expertise, relevant experience with green projects, ideas for ways to green the CCB, and ideas for innovative funding sources.

Eighty-nine applications were received representing business sectors ranging from architecture, construction and engineering firms to non-profits, universities and state agencies

The Green CCB Development team will work with RMI on June 9 -10 to develop a roadmap for how to transform the CCB into a green building, which will make the building more energy efficient, saving tax payer dollars.

The following are the individuals selected to comprise the Green CCB Team:

Amber Collins, Marion County Health Department

Andy Sahm, Shiel Sexton

Robert (Bob) Koester, Ball State University CAP

Brad Allen, Trane

Carey Hamilton, Indiana Recycling Coalition

Chris Downs, Johnson Controls

Craig Flandermeyer, Schmidt Associates

Dan Overby, BDMD Associates

Geoffrey Kavulya, Ratio Architects

Glenn Livers, IPL

Greg Silcox, ReThink

Jason Ellis, Keystone Construction

Jeff Kingsbury, Greenstreet

Jeff Mader, Synthesis

Jeff Ton, Confluence Dynamics LLC

Jennifer Roberts, Elements Engineering

Jill Mendoza, IDO

Kristen Trovillion, IN Office of Energy & Defense

Kurt Geisselman, Siemens

Luke Leising , American Structurepoint

Mark Darrall, A2SO4

Mark Grant, Ice Miller

Mary Hauser, Browning Investments

Mike Campbell, Hilton Garden Inn

Nicole Ross, Exact Target

Ryan Brown, Lauth

Sam Miller, JFNew

Sarah Hempstead, Energy Solutions

Stephen Ashkin, The Ashkin Group

Steven Robinson, URS

Ted Blahnik, Williams Creek Consulting

Tim Thoman, Performance Services Inc

Tom Durkin, Durkin and Villalta PE

Tom Roeder, DesignAire Engineering

Natalie Stuckey, Bose McKinney Evans

No comments: